## 4.—Members of the King's Privy Council for Canada, According to Seniority Therein, as at Nov. 15, 1948—concluded

Name	Date When Sworn In	Name	Date When Sworn In
The Rt. Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley.  The Hon. Joseph Enoil Michaud. The Rt. Hon. Clarence Decatur Howe <sup>3</sup> .  The Rt. Hon. James Garfield Gardiner <sup>3</sup> The Hon. James Angus Mac-Kinnon <sup>3</sup> .  The Hon. Pierre Francois Casgrain.  The Hon. Colin William George Gibson <sup>3</sup> .  The Hon. William Pate Mulock.  The Hon. Angus Lewis Mac-Donald.  The Hon. Leighton Goldie Mc-Carthy.  The Hon. Joseph Thorarinn Thorson.  The Hon. William Ferdinand Alphonse Turgeon.  The Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent <sup>2</sup> .  The Hon. Humphrey Mitchell <sup>3</sup> .  The Rt. Hon. Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill.	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Nov. 4, 1935 Jan. 23, 1939 May 10, 1940 July 8, 1940 July 8, 1940 July 12, 1940 Mar. 4, 1941 June 11, 1941 Oct. 8, 1941 Dec. 10, 1941 Dec. 15, 1941	The Hon. Alphonse Fourniers The Hon. Ernest Bertrands The Hon. Leo Richer LaFleche. The Hon. Brooke Claxtons The Hon. Andrew George Latta McNaughton. The Hon. James Allison Glen The Hon. Joseph Arthur Jeans. The Hon. Lionel Chevriers. The Hon. Paul Joseph James Martins. The Hon. Douglas Charles Abbotts. The Hon. James Joseph McCanns. The Hon. James Joseph McCanns. The Hon. David Laurence Maclaren. The Hon. Thomas Vien. The Hon. Wishart McLea Robertsons. The Hon. Milton Fowler Greggs The Hon. Robert Wellington Mayhews. The Hon. Lester Bowles Pearsons The Hon. Lester Bowles Pearsons The Hon. Stuart Sinclair Garsons The Hon. Robert Henry Winters	Nov. 15, 1948

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> As in the case of Privy Councillors of the United Kingdom, members of His Majesty's Privy Council for Canada take rank *inter se* according to the dates of their being sworn in.

<sup>2</sup> Ranks as the Prime Minister of Canada.

<sup>3</sup> Ranks as a member of the Cabinet.

## 5.—Duration and Sessions of Dominion Parliaments, 1935-48

Note.—Similar information for the 1st to the 12th Parliaments, covering the period from Confederation to 1917, will be found at p. 46 of the 1940 Year Book; and that for the 13th to 17th Parliaments at p. 53 of the 1945 edition.

Order of Parliament	Session	Date of Opening	Date of Prorogation	Days of Session		Date of Election, Writs Returnable, Dissolution, and Length of Parliament <sup>1</sup> , <sup>2</sup>
18th Parliament.	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	Feb. 6, 1936 Jan. 14, 1937 Jan. 27, 1938 Jan. 12, 1939 Sept. 7, 1939 Jan. 25, 1940	June 23, 1936 Apr. 10, 1937 July 1, 1938 June 3, 1939 Sept. 13, 1939 Jan. 25, 1940	139 87 156 143 7	91 62 102 103 6	Oct. 14, 19353 Nov. 9, 19354 Jan. 25, 19405 4 y., 2 m., 16 d.
19th Parliament <sup>8</sup>	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	May 16, 1940 Nov. 7, 1940 Jan. 22, 1942 Jan. 28, 1943 Jan. 27, 1944 Mar. 19, 1945	Nov. 5, 1940 Jan. 21, 1942 Jan. 27, 1943 Jan. 26, 1944 Jan. 31, 1945 Apr. 16, 1945	174 441 371 364 371 29	61 105 124 120 136 19	Mar. 26, 1940 <sup>3</sup> Apr. 17, 1940 <sup>4</sup> Apr. 16, 1945 <sup>5</sup> 5 y.
20th Parliament.	1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Sept. 6, 1945 Mar. 14, 1946 Jan. 30, 1947 Dec. 5, 1947	Dec. 18, 1945 Aug. 31, 1946 July 17, 1947 June 30, 1948	104 171 169 209	76 118 115 119	June 11, 1945 <sup>3</sup> Aug. 9, 1945 <sup>4</sup>

¹ The ordinary legal limit of duration for each Parliament is five years.

² Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive (B.N.A. Act, Sect. 50).

² Date of general election.

⁴ Writs returnable.

⁵ Dissolution of Parliament.

⁶ During the war years Parliament was kept in almost continuous session. When prorogation took place it was followed immediately by a new session. During long adjournments provision was made whereby the Speaker could reconvene Parliament before the date previously set for reassembly.